Big Changes

Posted: February 2, 2018 in Uncategorized

Over the past year there have been a couple big changes. I got married at the end of March and then, less than a month later, found out I was pregnant. I continued hiking, working out, and playing a little tennis making sure to keep my heart rate under 140 (advised by my doctor). Tennis was the first activity to go, being less steady in my feet, around 16 weeks I basically cut out tennis except a couple times just hitting after July). I continued going to the gym and hiking, although hiking during the hot summer in AZ is not my cup of tea, so didn’t do much last summer. In the fall, I hiked a handful of times, the shorter trail at thunderbird, but with all the stops I had to make, would take me about twice as long. I continued going to the gym several times a week until mid October. We went to Disneyland over fall break and I kept up just fine (even though I couldn’t do any of the fun rides). In cutting out almost all exercise for the last 2 months of pregnancy my body definitely got weaker and my endurance is next to nothing. My doctor said I could start exercising right away, but with having a newborn and a body that has gone threw giving birth, that isn’t the easiest thing. I have been trying to go for a walk daily and that feels great. About a week ago I started feeling like I’m back to myself. The past couple nights we have played basketball with the kids while Triton sits on the sidelines. I’m hoping this weekend I will be able to do a very mild hike with Triton, concrete/dirt (not rocky) and little to no incline. Also hoping to make it to the gym and get in even a 15 minute cardio workout with a little strength training.

We are heading back to Disneyland over Spring break and I hope to be in better shape by then in order to get the most out of the trip.

our cutie this morning after a little walk. 1/30 weighed 8 lb 11oz and is 20 inches.

Leave a comment